Na cineálacha éagsúla neamhoird imní

Na cineálacha éagsúla neamhoird imní

Anxiety disorders manifest themselves in a very variable way, ranging from panic attacks to a very specific phobia, including generalized and almost constant anxiety, which is not justified by any particular event.

In France, the Haute Autorité de Santé (HAS) lists six clinical entities2 (European classification ICD-10) among anxiety disorders:

  • neamhord imní ginearálaithe
  • panic disorder with or without agoraphobia,
  • social anxiety disorder,
  • specific phobia (e.g. phobia of heights or spiders),
  • neamhord éigeantach obsessive
  • post-traumatic stress disorder.

The most recent version of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, the DSM-V, published in 2014, widely used in North America, proposes to categorize the various anxiety disorders as follows3 :

  • anxiety disorders,
  • obsessive-compulsive disorder and other related disorders
  • disorders associated with stress and trauma

Each of these categories includes about ten “sub-groups”. Thus, among the “anxiety disorders”, we find, among others: agoraphobia, generalized anxiety disorder, selective mutism, social phobia, anxiety induced by medication or drugs, phobias, etc.

Leave a Reply